Are you an adult learning to drive for the first time? Relocating from another state? Moving from another country?
Whatever your situation, our experienced, patient driving instructors can help you develop a solid understanding of California laws and instill good driving habits ... so you can pass your driver’s test and become a confident and safe driver.
Alliance Defensive Driving School has been successfully training adult drivers for over a decade. Using proven defensive driving methods, we teach you how to handle real-life driving situations with confidence. Plus, each of our driving instructors is personally trained by a 14-year police force veteran, and our driver training vehicles have extra safety features built-in. That means you can rest assured you’ll be safe while getting the highest quality driver education possible.
Getting a Driver’s Permit (Drivers Over Age 18)
- Be over 18 years of age
- Fill out the DMV application form (DL-44) online
- Present acceptable identity and legal residence documents
- Provide your social security number
- Pay the required application fee
- Pass an eye exam
- Have your picture taken
- Provide a thumbprint
- Pass a knowledge test (If you miss 9 or more of the 46 total questions, you must wait one week before retaking the test.)
Getting a Driver’s License (Drivers Over the Age of 18)
If you are a new adult driver or a current driver from another country, the DMV requires that you take a behind-the-wheel driving test. To do this, you will need to:
- Make a driving test appointment through the DMV Appointment System or call 1-800-777-0133 during the regular business hours. Driving tests are not given without an appointment.
- Provide proof of financial responsibility that meets or exceeds California Insurance Requirements.
After passing the driving test, you will be issued an interim driver’s license valid for 90 days until your new photo driver’s license arrives in the mail.
If you fail the driving test, you must wait 14 days before retaking it. You have three chances to pass, and each additional driving test requires a $7 fee.